PUBLIC NOTICE Franklin 2020 Census

PUBLIC NOTICE 2020 CENSUS PRECINCT BOUNDARY CHANGES

Residents of Franklin County are hereby notified that the Franklin County Temporary Redistricting Commission will hold a Public Hearing on December 20th, 2021, at 11:00AM in the Board of Supervisors Meeting Room in the Franklin County Courthouse, 12 1st Ave. NW, Hampton, Iowa. The purpose of the hearing will be to gather comments on the preliminary proposed precinct plan resulting from the 2020 Census. Members of the public may offer oral or written comments prior to and at the Public Hearing. Members of the public are allowed to present an alternative plan.

Precinct Requirements

Franklin County is a Plan Three County. In Plan Three Counties, the Board of Supervisor is elected by supervisor district and the supervisor must live in the supervisor districts. The supervisors must establish a temporary redistricting commission which will draw precinct boundaries. The Legislative Service Agency will draw supervisor district boundaries.

All precincts in counties in Iowa must meet the following standards:

Precinct population cannot exceed 3,340

Precinct must lie within one legislative district

Composed of contiguous territory Follow census block boundaries Townships as precincts:

Each township that does not include any part of a city with a population over 2,000

The unincorporated portion of any township, containing a city with a population over 2,000

If townships are divided into more than one precinct, the sections must be reasonably equal in population

Exclude city annexed territory

Franklin County Proposed Precinct Legal Descriptions:

No 1 – Geneva/Ingham/East Mott – All of Geneva Township including the City of Geneva, All of Ingham Township including the City of Hansell, and Mott township starting at Quail Ave and proceeding east to the township boundary.

No 2 – Grant/Osceloa – All of Grant township and all of Osceola township including a portion of the City of Ackley

No 3 – Hamilton/Reeve – All of Hamilton township and all of Reeve township excluding a small portion of the City of Hampton

No 8 – Marion – All of Marion township including City of Latimer, but excluding City of Coulter

No 9 – Oakland/Morgan/Lee – All of Oakland township including City of Popejoy and a portion of City of Dows, all of Morgan township, all of Lee township, and the City of Coulter.

No 10 – West Mott – Mott township from Quail Ave west to the township boundary

No 11 – Richland/Ross/West Fork – All of Richland Township, all of Ross township including the City of Sheffield, and all of West Fork township

No 12 – Wisner/Scott – All of Wisner township and all of Scott township including the City of Alexander

No 4-7- Hampton Wards as determined by the City of Hampton

Population of each Precinct:
Geneva/Ingham/East Mott 619
Grant/Osceola565
Hamilton/Reeve417
Oakland/Morgan/Lee 826
Wisner/Scott472
Richland/Ross/West Fork 1707
Marion
West Mott

Copies of the legal descriptions of the plans, maps illustration the plans, a summary of the standards prescribed by law for development of the plans and a statement of the population of each precinct are available at the Courthouse, 12 1st Ave. NW, Hampton, Iowa, in the Auditor's Office and also online under Latest News

Published in The Sheffield Press on Thursday, Dec. 9, 2021