PUBLIC NOTICE Franklin Ordinance 2021A

FRANKLIN COUNTY ORIDI-NANCE 2021A AN ORDINANCE TO ESTAB-LISH BOUNDARIES OF VOTER PRECINCTS WITHIN FRANKLIN COUNTY, IOWA

BE IT ENACTED by the Board of Supervisors of Franklin County, lowa:

SECTION 1 - PUROPOSE -Repealing the adoption of Franklin County Ordinance 1.1A - Amended Established the Voting Precincts of Franklin County, Iowa as required following the 2020 Census.

SECTION 2 - DEFINITIONS - For use in this ordinance certain terms or words herein shall be interpreted or defined as follows:

"Board" means the Franklin County, Iowa Board of Supervisors

"Ordinance" means a county law of a general or permanent nature.

SECTION 3 - AUTHORITY The Board cites Chapter 49 of the Code of Iowa as their authority to compile and adopt an ordinance establishing the voting precincts of the County.

SECTION 4 - PRECINCTS · The Board has reviewed the results of the 2020 Census, along with the proposed maps from the Franklin County Temporary Redistricting Commission, and has determined that the voting precincts of Franklin County, Iowa shall be as follows:

1 - Geneva/Ingham/East Mott -All of the unincorporated portions of Geneva Township & Ingham Township, the unincorporated portion of Mott Township started at Quail Avenue and proceeding east to the township boundary; and including all of the incorporated cities of Hansell & Geneva.

2 - Grant/Osceola - All of the unincorporated portions of Grant & Osceola township; and including the portions of the incorporated city of Ackley that lies within Franklin County.

3 - Hamilton/Reeve - All of the unincorporated portions of Hamilton & Reeve townships

8 - Marion - All of the unincorporated portion of Marion township & the incorporated city of Latimer and excluding the incorporated city of Coulter

9 - Oakland/Morgan/Lee - All of the unincorporated portion of Oakland, Morgan, & Lee townships; and including the incorporated city of Popejoy, city of Coulter, and the portion of the City of Dows that lies within Franklin County.

10 - West Mott - The unincorporated portion of Mott Township beginning at Quail Avenue and traveling west to the township boundary.

11 - Richland/Ross/West Fork -All of the unincorporated portions of Richland, Ross, & West Fork townships; and the incorporated city of Sheffield.

12 – Wisner/Scott – All of the unincorporated portions of Wisner & Scott townships; and in the incorporated city of Alexander.

City of Hampton precincts are the same as those directed by the City of Hampton, Ordinance #327.

SECTION 5 - COMBINING PRECINCTS – This ordinance shall not be construed so as to restrict the Commissioner of Elections from combining voting precincts when prudent or necessary as allowed or required by the Code of Iowa.

SECION 6 – REPEALER – All ordinance or parts of this ordinance in conflict with the provisions contained herein are hereby repealed.

SECTION 7 - SEVÉREABILITY If any section, provision, or part of this ordinance shall be adjudged unconstitutional or otherwise invalid, such adjudication shall not affect the validity of the ordinance as a whole or any section, provision, or part thereof not invalid or unconstitutional.

SECTION 8 - WHEN EFFEC-TIVE – This ordinance shall be in full force and effect for all elections held after January 15th, 2022.

1st Reading 12/20/202 2nd Reading – 12/ 27/2021 3rd Reading - 12/27/2021

Motion by Supervisor McVicker and seconded by Supervisor Vanness to approval final reading of Franklin County Ordinance 2021A, AN ORDINANCE TO ESTAB-LISH BOUNDARIES OF VOTER PRECINCTS WITHIN FRANKLIN COUNTY, IOWA. Votes Taken Resulted as Fol-

lows:

Ayes - McVicker, Nolte, Vanness Nays - None

Absent - None

Passed and Approved on this 27th Day of December 2021.

ATTEST:

Michael Nolte, Chairman

Katy A Flint, Auditor &

Franklin County Board of Supervisors

Clerk to the Franklin County Board of Supervisors